ARROZ CON LECHE…A sweet mood tamer

Nine years away from my country and the first thing that comes to my mind when I face the question “What do you miss the most?” is THE FOOD!  My childhood is strongly influenced by the food, the smells, the colors. I could find all this in mercados (markets). My mood swings as a teenager were tamed by a good cold Arroz con Leche. I guess it was the texture and the sweetness, maybe it was the milky flavour that calmed me as if I was having breast milk…soft and sweet.

This is why I had to learn to do it…in an attempt to calm my moods in winter nights. To ease the mid afternoon cravings, or the “before bed” snack.

I share this recipe hoping it will bring you too, some childhood memories.

ARROZ CON LECHE *sweet rice on milk

Mexican style

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup of rice, rinsed in luke warm water, 1 sweet condensed milk, 1 stick of cinnamon, 1 cup of fresh milk, 2 cups of water.
Cook the rice in the water on low fire until the rice becomes fluffy but still firm and the water has decreased.
Add the fresh milk and the sweet condensed milk little by little, the cinnamon a
Let it boil until the rice is soft and cooked.
HINT> do not stir after you have added the milk!
Place the rice on a glass bowl, add the raisins. Remove the cinnamon stick.
Store it on the fridge, covered.
Serve cold, sprinkle with more cinnamon if desired.
It tastes better the next day!