I will not make a list of year resolutions

Instead I am going to grab a piece of paper, big enough to draw three columns.

On the first one I will write a list of things I liked, enjoyed, appreciated and loved about this year that just passed. On the second column I will write a list of things I judge to be not so good about my year, like things I did not do and said I would or people I forgot to contact or see, thoughts about what I would like to let go, heal, forgive… On the third column I will write my 2011 year intentions. Let me copy here the Dictionary´s meaning of the word:

intention |inˈten ch ən|noun

1 a thing intended; an aim or plan : she was full of good intentions | [with infinitive ] • the action or fact of intending : intention is just one of the factors that will be considered. • ( one’s intentions) a person’s designs.

I will then write what is that which I plan or aim in all levels of my life… as light as a cloud and deep as the sea.

This is obviously not going to take me only ONE year to accomplish..this is my Life´s aim! But I can write the steps that I want to take this year that will get me CLOSER to that which I dream of doing and becoming…

The first column will take me to the path of gratefulness, and all that blessed my life with this year. The second column will show that which I strive to change and forgive. By this I mean those bits of my personality that get in the way of who I am. The third column is the navigation map, the compass.

So no resolutions huh?

Why?

Well, looking at the Dictionary´s meaning of the word:

resolution |ˌrezəˈloō sh ən|noun

1 a firm decision to do or not to do something| a New Year’s resolution.                             • a formal expression of opinion or intention agreed on by a legislative body, committee, or other formal meeting, typically after taking a vote                                                             • the quality of being determined or resolute                                                                          .See note at courage

Thoughts come into my mind after reading it:

How can I take a decision now of what I will do for the next 365 days? And if I take a decision and not do it, does that mean I have failed? I would put myself in very tight parameters, promises that I may not be able to keep. And I have learnt that life is about enjoying the moments that are given to us. These moments are gifts of presence, instants that will not stay long, that will not return… therefore precious.

These are my 2011 intentions:

  • I would like to learn two new things that will enrich the knowledge that will lead me towards that which I aim.
  • I will be open to the new doors and possibilities that will get me closer to my dreams and will meet the people who will help me in these projects.
  • I will look and attract the necessary resources that will help me lay the foundations to that which I want to build.
  • I will keep feeding my already open, respectful and loving relationships with the ones I love so that they may grow and reach new heights.
  • I will open my heart and my understanding to what is needed from me with no judgment and no fear.

For NOW I am grateful for the year that gave me life, love and wonder….

Here is my old-time favorite video that I have always found inspiring. I keep it on my ipod so I can play it anytime.





One thought on “I will not make a list of year resolutions

Leave a Reply

